KK and I have started our Advent devotionals.  Over dinner each evening we read the devotional piece written by a member of our church and open the advent calendar.  In the evening, just before sleep we take turns reading from “Night Visions:Searching the Shadows of Advent and Christmas”.  This week’s readings have all been about waiting and longing, experiences that I am intimately familiar with and yet haven’t really considered theologically.  While I don’t believe that God makes things happen, and I’m not even sure I think that God has any kind of plan for us (I just like my free will too much for that idea – what a terrible Calvinist I was) it is reassuring to consider a God who is present in waiting moments, walking alongside us.  I’m also loving the slightly dark feel to “Night Visions”.  While I”m not much of a Goth anymore – beyond my love of loud, angry, electronic music – my heart still leaps at all things dark and twisty.  Speaking of which, I purchased this ornament for our tree this year and I love it.  I’m sure that when my adorable, seriously opinionated little sister sees it she will have something to say – is it wrong that knowing she would not like it was part of the fun of buying it?  Ahh family…

 

 

Wednesday’s panic turned out to be nothing but a good reason to delay our insemination.  We had a trigger shot on Friday and the insemination on Saturday morning.  So far I have been calm and relaxed.  As long as I stay away from blogs and message boards I seem to do fine.  I know that waiting is an important skill to master and this is the perfect season for it.

