I spent the year between my Undergraduate and Graduate studies in Belfast Northern Ireland.  In 2001 much of the unrest had ended and Belfast was an only moderately dangerous place to live.  In an effort to curb violence and unrest the city was patrolled 24 hours a day 7 days a week by police helicopters.  When I arrived I found the sound unsettling, but it quickly became a soothing white noise that comforted me to sleep every evening.

While the ‘copters aren’t flying 24-7, here in Super Bowl central I have returned to that place of relaxation that can only come from the continuous hum of a helicopter.  Never in my life have I been a football fan, but I am certainly appreciating free concerts every night of the week just blocks from where I live.  There is something to be said for having Indianapolis – a small city with wide streets, a large number of hotels, and a decent convention center – host the super bowl.  The traffic is ridiculous for here, but that just feels like a normal day in my former home of Northern New Jersey.  Speaking of which…how in the heck are they going to survive this in E. Rutherford in 2014?  Who thought adding 150,000+ people to an already congested metro area was a good idea?  Yikes!

