I love Sesame Street.   As a teenager I would sometimes choose Sesame Street over other afternoon programming, just for the chance to see the Martians.  Yip-yip-yip-yip.  They crack me up every time…

When it would rain in the summer my mom would often start us all singing the Rainy Day song.  Admittedly the song has morphed over time.  Now it only loosely resembles the original song.  Here’s a refresher.

 

 

The county that I work in is experiencing an “exceptional drought” and the county that I live in has “extreme drought” conditions going on.  It’s awful.  On my drive to work in the morning and home in the evening I spend more and more time praying for the farmers and hoping our beautiful forests will survive.  While our city is experiencing a watering ban the exception to the rule is that everyone is encouraged to water their trees!  I have a difficult time comprehending drought so severe that the trees are dying…

Which is all to say, when I heard the sounds of thunder outside a few minutes ago and realized it was pouring I could not have been happier.  I used to sing the Rainy Day song with sadness, wishing I could be outside, but today that song is a party.

