My mama brain thinks in bits and pieces.  Here’s the current list.

20130122-154954.jpg

My favorite little guy is learning control of his head so quickly that it astonishes me.  When I gifted him with his great grandfather’s middle name I hadn’t intended that he would inherit the family noggin as well – maybe the brains, but certainly not the large head.  Poor kid.  We have seriously large domes.  Makes holding one’s head up even more of an accomplishment though.

I think he learns something new every day, from little shifts in capability to leaps in understanding.  It’s amazing.  After mentioning that his neck strength seemed much stronger our daycare provider decided to give him a try in the bumbo to see how he would do.  I can’t believe he managed long enough for a photo (she said that he went quite a bit longer while the other kids napped).  His little serious face just eats away at my mama heart.  How wonderful to have a care provider that takes the time to send you a mid day photo.

*****

Z’s daycare has been wonderful.  The woman who cares for him loves all three of her little charges like they were her own.  Unfortunately the Director of the organization has not been as reliable as one would hope and the larger staff is undergoing some serious transition.  Many staff people have moved on in the last few weeks and his current caregiver has applications in at other places.  I’m heartbroken.  I cannot imagine finding another place or person I like as well.  KK and I are looking into other options.  If you pray, hold us in the light.  I need to work, and I need to know that he is safe while we are away.

*****

I am honored an overwhelmed to have been mentioned by rlg. in her last post over at breaking into blossom.  I’ve read her writing (and that of her lovely partner) for years and drawn so much strength from their story.  Daily I am reminded of the brave families who paved the way so that we would not be alone.  This life is such a wonderful gift.

*****

Last Tuesday we took our little guy in for his two month checkup and vaccinations.  He weighed in at 13lbs 10oz!  I am so proud of our breastfeeding relationship.  Although I have moments of fear that my supply might be decreasing, or that we might not be getting it right, this check up was validation that we are both getting on just fine.  KK stayed with Z while he got his vaccinations.  I cannot be in the room with him when he cries like that.  I turn into a mess and that just makes it harder for him.  KK has also taken to administering the nosefrida while I am in the shower.  She’s such a strong Mom, and so wise.

*****

Tonight is date night.  We started therapy just after Z’s conception to work on our communication skills.  I was afraid that this little being would expose all of the cracks in our foundation.  Instead, I have found that he has highlighted our strengths.  We miss each other like crazy and love each other all the more fiercely for Zachary’s presence in our lives.

