So, a big thanks to Yogi’s Mama at Love Invents Us and Camille at And Just Add Water for the nomination for a Liebster award.  :)  I’ve been way late in my response because of our recent vacations.  I’ll start with the Liebster and post about vacation in a few days.

Image

Blogger awards are such a great way to learn more about your fellow bloggers. This is a way for small bloggers to give recognition to other small bloggers (200 followers or less). Here’s how it works:

Copy & Paste This Whole Post and Replace All Your Information — who awarded you, for example.

The rules:

  1. Thank the Liebster Blog presenter who nominated you and link back to their blog.
  2. Post 11 facts about yourself, answering the 11 questions you were asked and create 11 questions for your nominees.
  3. Nominate 11 blogs who you feel deserve to be noticed and leave a comment on their blog letting them know they have been chosen.
  4. Display the Liebster Award logo.
  5. No tag backs meaning you can’t just re nominate the person who nominated you.

As Solo the First put it “The real purpose behind these nominations are not only as an accolade from a fellow blogger and let’s face it, nothing gently strokes our little writer hearts more than someone telling you they appreciate your work. In addition to the back patting we need to receive from time to time, it also allows us to get a little more personal as we get to know our increasing blogging community. It also helps drive traffic to your site as we reference one another.”

The questions put forth to me (with my answers) are as follows:

From Yogi’s Mama:

Here are my 11 questions:

  1. When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?  An artist, a superhero, a musician, a lawyer.  Lots of things!  I am such a Gemini that I couldn’t make up my mind…
  2. What’s your favorite ice cream flavor?  Chocolate.  The more Chocolate the better…
  3. Share your three favorite (non lesbian baby-making) blogs.  I don’t read non lesbian baby-making blogs, but I love all three of these blogs which have something to do with parenting.  Hopefully that counts!…  Elevating Childcare,   Every Little Thing  and  For God and Cheese.  In the interest of honesty, For God and Cheese is written by my Cousin in Law.  She is an amazing mother, lawyer, person of faith, and the wife to a man struggling with cancer (my cousin, Jeff).  I haven’t linked to her blog from here, or shared this blog with my family, but I’d be remiss if I didn’t acknowledge her incredible writing and parenting style.  
  4. What public figures (people we all might know) make your top five? (As in, people you think are hot)  So much of what I find attractive about people is tied up in knowing them personally so this is hard for me.  Here are a few people who I think are interesting and attractive though… Rachel Maddow, an early androgynous David Bowie, when Angelina Jolie is eating I think she is really beautiful, I’ve always loved Sandra Bullock, and I don’t follow sports, but Brittney Griner is pretty amazing in this article: http://espn.go.com/espn/feature/story/_/id/9316697/owning-middle
  5. What is your most favorite meal? Looking for more than breakfast, lunch or dinner here. What’s on the plate?  BREAKFAST!!!  I really really really love eggs and bacon in the morning.  
  6. What book could you read over and over?  Jane Austin’s “Pride and Prejudice”
  7. Cats or dogs? Cats all the way.  
  8. What are five words that best describe you?  Nerdy, Enthusiastic, Driven, Optimistic, Busy
  9. If you could trade places with someone (anyone!) for a day who would it be?
  10. An envelope stuffed with cash appears in your mailbox, what do you do?  Buy my Sister and Brother-in-Law out of their house.  They are underwater in their mortgage through no fault of their own (because they have done everything right they can’t get any government assistance to deal with the problem).  I would really love to be able to buy their house from them, sell it at a loss and give them the $ it sells for to start over.  If there was anything leftover I’d pay off our student loan debt and mortgage so we’d have some money to save for traveling.  :)
  11. If someone threw you a surprise party would you feel loved or misunderstood?  loved, although it would embarrass me a bit first

 

From Camille:

  1. What is the best book you’ve read recently?  The Essential Dykes to Watch Out For by Alison Bechdel – A friend was shocked that I hadn’t read this and insisted I read her much loved copy.  It was fantastic and I loved it.  
  2. Name a pet peeve.  People who don’t know how to drive in the city…
  3. If you could travel any place and money was not a factor, where would you go?  Right now I’d take my family to the UK to visit a good friend of mine whose son was born 3 weeks before Zach-o.
  4. If you could go to any concert, whether they are dead or alive, broken up or together, who would it be?  Oooohh…  I’d really love to see Assemblage 23 live.  Tom Shear played in our city just before we moved here and I can’t see him returning.  I’d love to see one of his live shows, but he’s such a small act that we’d have to travel a long way to do so…I can’t imagine that with a small fry at home.
  5. Red wine, white wine, beer, or water?  BEER!  Amber.  Smithwicks served at a pub in Belfast would be best.  :)
  6. Do you have a celebrity look-a-like? If so, who?  The kids I worked with in Belfast, NI thought I looked like Brittney Spears. I am pretty sure they thought that only because they were enamored with my american accent and she was big stuff at the time…
  7. What are three blogs you read most often?  I use Feedly so I read the same 10-12 blogs all at the same time.  Lately I’ve loved the posts from Counting Chickens, Butch and Pregnant, Breaking into Blossom,  For God and Cheese and Love Invents Us.  Now I’m looking forward to following Just Add Water!  
  8. What is your guilty pleasure?  Watching “House Hunters” and “Say Yes to the Dress” while I knit.
  9. What is one skill or hobby you’re interested in learning?  I can’t keep up with the ones I have so I’m not going to take anything else on!  :)
  10. What are five words that best describe you?  See Above.
  11. Beach or mountains?   Beach – southern Maine preferably  

I know that the next step here is nominating someone, but every one of the blogs I would nominate has already been nominated.  So, I’m going to leave it at this.  Thanks, folks!

